Running in the heat and humidity

I’m working from home today and thought I could use my lunch time wisely by going out for a quick 45 minute run. Bad idea. 84 degree Fahrenheit weather with 66% humidity made my quick trot into an hour long slog in which I couldn’t go more than a half mile without stopping. I’ll eventually have to learn that these humid August days are better off on the treadmill in the air conditioned basement.
One thing that I thought about during my run (well, infrequent fast walk) was the exclusivity of literary agents. In the 2013 Guide to Literary Agents, almost every one of the entries state they want exclusivity for the four to six week period as they review the query letters and manuscripts. That means I’m forced to wait that period of time for each submission instead of having multiple copies to multiple agencies. I do happen to find ways around it by seeking out agencies who don’t mind having multiple submissions. So I will pair up an exclusive agency with one that doesn’t care to increase my chances.
I just having difficulties understanding the fact the literary agencies would have to compete in order to read, discuss and engage the authors who happen to have multiple manuscripts to various agencies. I suppose someday I’ll get the answer I seek. Hopefully an agency will pick up the mss and I wouldn’t have to worry about such matters.
I’ll add a photo of the road leading to Oval Beach in Saugatuck Michigan.
Saugatuck Oval

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

